Reviews

                           Reviews For Newington Farmhouse

“We had a wonderful week at newington farm” , from where we could easily explore this beautiful area of west Penwith . The cottage was warm and cosy and extremely well -equipped . The beds were very comfortable too ! The perfect all year round cottage. Looking forward to our next visit already !  Christopher & Fenella November 2020

“We stayed in this cottage for a week in October.”  From the moment you walked into the porch area it had a homely feeling, the cottage as a whole was very clean and had everything we needed for an easy relaxing stay. The garden was brilliant for our boys and well maintained. Location wise is set on the edge of the village in a very quiet location but within easy reach of the local bigger towns. Would definetly recommend staying here for a peaceful country Cornish break. Emma and Family October 2020.

“I cannot recommend this property highly enough.” The location was perfect close to everything but just far enough away to provide a perfect secluded retreat. Every day in our week long stay we went in a different direction and had plenty to fill every minute. Bring your walking boots and take a few minutes to plan a route and within meters you will have Cornwall practically to yourself. Will definitely be coming back to say here again but will bring our family next time to share this brilliant house and surrounding area. Lyndsay, we had such a wonderful time staying in your cottage. It is a perfect place to relax,with so many places to visit close to hand. Jayne. October 2020

“Lovely cottage in a quiet village setting.” Fully equipped with every thing you need. We had a really restful holiday and would look to stay again. Downsides….None!    Fiona and Mike September 2020

“We had a lovely stay” . Good location and easy to get to places in Penwith. Robert & Family. August 2020

“The cottage was perfect for our needs”. Rural location, very quiet and great views across farmland to the sea. Comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, private garden & good sized lounge/diner. Location was ideal for the beaches at Sennen and Portcurno, walks around Cape Cornwall, Penlee, Lamorna and only 10 mins drive from supermarkets in Penzance. We’ve already booked again for 2021. Ewan and Emma and Family August 2020

“With the stresses and strains of Covid 19, Newington Farm was a haven of peace and tranquillity”. Everything about the booking and arrival went very well.. The cottage has a very peaceful air about it. Everything needed was provided. One day we spent most of the time relaxing in the garden and you don’t need to drive very far to find something interesting or different to do. The beaches are excellent and the weather was always warm, even when the sun didn’t shine. We spent one day in hard hats at Geevor Tin Mine which was fascinating. We went mountain biking on bridle trails around the area – great fun. We visited the art gallery and fishing port at Newlyn and drove up to Minack Open Air Theatre, which, not surprisingly, was sold out and also an afternoon at Trewidden Gardens. All within minutes of the farmhouse. We wished we’d booked a fortnight. We would definitely recommend staying here. Dave & Denise August 2020.


“A great place to stay.”
Quiet setting, lovely house and garden and great views. Lots of personal touches make this place very homely. Thank you Lyndsay for a great place to stay. We appreciated the lovely house, garden, views and setting. It was a great place for our family and dog. We look forward to returning next year.” Reshad and family , July 2020

“What a lovely cosy Cornish cottage”. Extremely comfy beds. We had some wonderful walks. Really well equipped kitchen and stunning views from the property. Will definitely be back again next year! Thanks Lyndsay for our stay!  Tom, Nam, Max, & Ellie. January 2020.


“Lovely house in a beautiful area”  
Really lovely, cosy house with beautiful artwork and fabulous outside space – would need to go in summer to properly appreciate the garden…Storm Denis didn’t help! A lovely base in one of our favourite places (beds were super-comfy). Mark & Family February 2020.

“Super house, in an ideal location”. Good dog walking from the house. Cosy, loved it. Gavin and Sue. Christmas 2019

“Beautiful farmhouse”. Distant views and joyfully quiet. A perfect spot to explore the best of Cornwall. A great space with everything you could need. Lyndsay was swift with information and communication. We loved it.The farmhouse was a delight. It’s thoughtfully furnished (great books and films)and the location is perfect for exploring the entire tip of Cornwall,the Lizard and Atlantic coast. We loved it. Many thanks again. Ruth & Family October 2019.

“Thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay at Newington Farmhouse in Sancreed”. We loved the character and the comfort of the house, and the garden and views were truly lovely. We couldn’t have wished for a better location from which to explore this stunning part of west Cornwall; stunning beaches, seaside towns such as St Ives and Penzance, beautiful little villages as well as St Michaels Mount and the Minack Theatre all within easy reach. We really, really want to return . Jackie and Family September 2019.

 “I just wanted to say thank you very much for our holiday. ” It felt very much like a home from home. We’ve had a wonderful week and didn’t want to leave, we’ll definitely be back.  Marie, Tom and Family. August 2019

“Thank you so much for letting us stay in your cottage”. The house ist just beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay, everything was just perfect!  We do hope to come back some time in future. All the best, Peggy, Hubert, Jannik, Julian, Finn and Timmy our dog . August 2019

“Newington Farmhouse is a beautiful property” set in the Countryside, making it very peaceful & relaxing with a lovely garden. Good communication with the owner. Carley and Family August 2019.

“Very practical cottage full of character”. Very comfortable with lovely far reaching sea views and an interesting garden. Loved our stay. Katrina and Family July 2019

“Newington Farmhouse is the perfect place to get away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life.”  It’s equipped with everything you will need for your holidays. The garden is lovely to sit in with a glass of wine looking at the beautiful countryside. We also enjoyed many tasty BBQ ‘s in the garden. Our Labrador Charlie also enjoyed the garden and the sausages on the BBQ. Lyndsey the owner is so accommodating and helpful, nothing is to much trouble. Thank you Lyndsey. Lesley, Dave and Charlie June 2019.

“A week at Newington Farmhouse” A lovely house in a nice position. Great garden which should be secure for most dogs and good views down to Mounts Bay. The house is comfortable with everything you need and the bed is comfy – don’t know about the other two bedrooms as they were not used!! Only a short trip by car to the shops – main supermarkets in Penzance – about 15 minutes with “local” shops in Newlyn. Geoff.  June 2019

“Lovely spacious property” with a large garden in a peaceful location. Beaches and local towns, Newlyn and Mousehole, all within an easy car ride. Rachael & Family Whitsun 2019

“Home from Home”We loved Newington Farmhouse and would love to return. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this was a much loved happy home and not just a holiday let. Everything we could have needed was provided. It is a comfortable warm house with lovely garden which thanks to the good weather we had the opportunity to enjoy.  Lyndsey is most definitely a Super Host. We didn’t want to leave. Gustav the Wheaten Terrier almost refused to get into the car to come home!! Thank you for sharing your home with us
Marie , Sinead and Gustav.  May 2019

“Newington Farmhouse is a delightful place to spend time away from home – in a home away from home.”  Warm and welcoming, cosy and comfortable, it has all you need for a happy family holiday.  We were blessed with incredible weather for most of the week but on the one day when it was truly terrible weather we had the added bonus of lighting a woodburner and hunkering down with one of the many board games available.  Newington Farmhouse strikes just the right balance between being well appointed but not a show home.  Although we didn’t utilise the garden that much, it would be fabulous in high summer with lawn, patios and a lovely, well maintained garden.  Sancreed is very well situated to access the far west beaches at Porthcurno and Sennen Cove as well as the little hidden gem of Portheras to the north and even Gwithian to the east of St Ives is a slightly longer but easy drive.  If you like your food, get up early and buy fresh fish and shell fish from a fantastic array at one of the many fishmongers on the front at Newlyn. Rachel & Family Easter 2019

“Highly recommended” . Lovely cottage in great location for visiting all the local areas of the peninsula. There are also lots of interesting public footpaths close to the cottage & local maps provided. Well equipped cottage & very clean. with good garden for relaxing or playing. Lyndsay is a terrific host who communicates all you need to know & is on stand-by in case of problems.” Sonia and Family April 2019

“It was a real wrench to leave!”   Spent a perfect week here in March, weather glorious and the only sound was the bird song. Glorious views and a beautifully kept garden added to the experience. The location is more or less equidistant between the rugged North coast and the more gentle southern one and whilst its only a few minutes from Penzance it feels as though it’s at the end of the world, especially at night when the lack of light pollution allows for spectacular views of the stars. The lovely cottage is well appointed and cosy with a real sun trap at the front. Highlights of the week included pasties from Warrens in St Just and visits to Marazion and Sennen Cove. It was a real wrench to leave!     Sue Badger March 2019.

“Great cottage, very cosy. A very enjoyable experience.”.  The cottage is warm and cosy. Very peaceful. Easy access to some great beaches like sennen, Hayle and Carbis bay and towns like St. Ives and penzance. Enjoyed some great food at the old success Inn at sennen and the gurnards head. Everywhere is really dog friendly. We all had a great time and will definitely be booking again. Many thanks, Darren, Jo, mo and Mable. January 2019.

“Newington Farmhouse is a must stay! ” This property is perfect and in a stunning location. We would definitely return and recommend to friends and family. It’s the perfect bolt hole for all seasons! We were there over the Christmas holidays and had a wonderful stay. Thank-You, Lyndsay.  Michael and Jacqui . Christmas 2018.

“I would certainly stay at Newington again”. Everything was absolutely perfect. Many thanks . Ray September 2018.

“A comfortable and well equipped cottage,with stunning rural views”We very much enjoyed staying in this property, which was perfectly placed for us to explore the Penwith peninsula. We visited St Ives Sennen, Porthcurno and Zennor and walked from the house to the Holy Well and Sancreed Beacon. The little porch at the front of the house is a real sun trap and there are plenty of places to sit in the garden. The large wood burning stove in the main sitting room looked as though it would make this a really cosy place to stay in the winter too and we would love to come back. Rosemarie and Family September 2018.

“Picture perfect Home full of character in beautiful, quiet location” We are just on our way home from a wonderful stay at Newington Farmhouse. The house is lovely and very comfortable and has a beautiful, enclosed garden. It is in the quiet, picturesque village of Sancreed and we thoroughly enjoyed the walks around us to the beacon and the Holy Well. I couldn’t get over how quiet it was, when we were sat outside and how pretty the views are. Even though it felt quite remote we could be at a beach In 10 mins and we went to fabulous Sennen Cove most days for bodyboarding. We also went to St Ives, Mousehole, Longrock beach, Porthcurno, Minack Theatre, Land End and St Michael’s Mount and none of them took long to get to. We will definitely return! Beth  and Family August 2018

“Beautiful authentic house in a gorgious surrounding” . Karsten and Family June 2018

“Cracking little cottage “.  Peacefully out of the main drag,equipped with everything you need almost at the end of the world. Guy and Pam May 2018
“It was just right for us “. We very much enjoyed our week at Newington farmhouse, it was just right for us. Lovely garden and centrally located. Joanne and Family April 2018.

        “Would certainly recommend this place!”  My wife, three young children and I stayed at Newington Farmhouse at the beginning of August 2017. We were impressed by its secluded location and found it perfect for our needs. We visited the local church by foot as well as the hidden Holy Well of Sancreed and even fed the wild horses by the nearby beacon. The house’s garden was a good size and just right for the kids to run about in. The house itself was well equipped with everything our family needed. From sellotape to board games. The lounge is large and its log burner cooked many a marshmellow and dried off loads of wet beach towels. Upstairs the rooms were a good size and each had a good view of the neighbouring fields. Lyndsay was a great host, easy to contact and very friendly. Would certainly recommend this place! August 2017

“Cosy and homely” We spent a long February weekend in the Newington farmhouse with our three teenage kids and a dog. We all loved the house with its original features and a log burner. The location was perfect with just a short drive to dog friendly beaches. We’d love to come back in summer for more beach walks and micro adventures! With thanks, Jo & family. February 2017.

“Lovely Cottage” We spent a lovely week at Newington Farm. We liked the spacious and comfortable living and dining room and the views from the bedrooms were lovely. We thought it was a great location with fantastic beaches nearby. We would highly recommend it for a relaxing time in Cornwall. September 2016

“Stunning property in idyllic location”  A lovely farmhouse in a beautiful location with amazing views from all bedroom windows. Rural peaceful location yet near enough to coastal towns for something more lively should you need it. Great walks and historical interest right on the doorstep too! The farmhouse has absolutely everything you could need and really is home from home – thank you! Will definitely be returning.   July 2016

“Beautiful place in the countryside”  We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful retreat in Cornwall. Newington Farmhouse is a cosy little cottage that has everything you need for quiet and calm days. Lots of rooms with a warm, welcoming atmosphere and a great view from the upper windows. The surrounding country is an invitation for relaxed hikes. Never had such a lot of fresh air for month! We´ve been here with our kids and they too loved it.    May 2016.

“A cosy and homely rural cottage” We had an amazing short break at this lovely rural cottage. We settled in very quickly and didn’t want to leave!The pictures really don’t do this place enough justice. The cottage and the surrounding area are even more gorgeous in person. It was very clean and well-taken care of, and all appliances worked fine. We didn’t realize that the washing machine was also a dryer, so that was a pleasant surprise and we definitely didn’t mind being woken up by the sheep in the nearby feild.During our short stay we visited Cape Cornwall and Kynance Cove, both beautiful parts of the cornish coast which we’d highly recommend visiting, if you haven’t been already.Lyndsay was very friendly and helpful when I spoke to her on the phone. Would reccommend this cottage to everyone. Thank you for having us 🙂 May 2016

“Recreation at it’s finest” I was after a long time back in the UK to the to find rest and lots of relaxation.Lyndsay has received me very warmly. I had theImpression that I know for a long time and have me immediately felt comfortable. This house has given me everything I wanted. It leaves no wishes there was nothing missing.The wonderful ambience, the coziness, the beautiful garden everything was so fantastic. The beautiful stylish means I liked it very well. I have never in so a short time can draw as much force as in this cottage in the beautiful location in Cornwall. I’m definitely come again, because I found the next time here a second home have. Love Lyndsay good thanks. May 2016

“A great place” We spent half term with our 18 year old twin sons and cocker spaniel Bertie in this lovely cottage which was perfectly situated to explore this beautiful part of England with both the North and South Coast within easy reach. The rooms had a very special and cosy atmosphere with great paintings everywhere.   The views from the bedroom are stunning and waking up to the very special winter light creating its own artwork in the blue framed windows was a pleasure every morning. At the end of the day the sofas by the wood burner were the perfect place to curl up with our books. The cottage is very well stocked with everything you can think of that makes for a comfortable stay and we could not have found a more charming place.  February 2016

“Beautiful Cottage, Ideal Rural Retreat”  My wife, our dog Clark and myself stayed in this cottage for a post Christmas break, the house was very welcoming and toasty warm especially with the wood burner blazing nicely. We have stayed in many rural cottages in Cornwall and Newington is up there with the best of them, if not the best!. A beautiful cottage in fantastic surroundings, you won’t be dissapointed. Look forward to going back sometime in the future. January 2015

“Wonderful cottage!” We had a wonderful holiday here and really didn’t want to leave! We settled in very quickly to the cottage thanks to its homely, relaxed feel. It has everything you need and is very clean and comfortable. And it’s a great location for visiting all the lovely beaches and countryside around. We couldn’t have asked for a better holiday cottage and I can’t wait to visit again! October 2015

“Fabulous, homely cottage in a great location”  The cottage is in a great location within easy reach of everything in the area. Not too far away from Penzance if you forgot something from the shops, but rural enough to feel you were in the country.The cottage was really homely and was very well equipped there was nothing extra required. The garden was beautiful and we managed to use it quite a bit including the barbecue! There is loads of information in the cottage from ordinance survey maps to leaflets to a little book that people fill in who stay recommending places to go and eat. Lyndsay is very good at communicating and even texted us to see if we had settled in ok, when she was on holiday somewhere else herself! I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and we had a fabulous stay, thank you Lyndsay …. September 2015

“Beautiful cottage in Cornwall” We stayed with our 2 young children in August 2015 and we very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage is well sized and nicely decorated and the garden was ideal for the children. Traffic is almost non-existant and there are many public footpaths nearby to explore the area, including some small woods and little streams. August 2015

“Rustic cottage in peaceful location” The cottage was very charming and rustic. It is in a remote position, meaning there is hardly any passing traffic, and that is mainly horses! There are fabulous views across the fields to the sea in the distance. The log burner was efficient and kept us warm as the autumn evenings drew in. The cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed. Communication by the owner was among the best and most helpful we have encountered in many years of renting holiday cottages. September 2014

“A Fab Cottage!!”  We were so excited to be visiting Cornwall and staying in such a lovely cottage, it really is as beautiful as the pictures displayed on here. When we arrived we were even more impressed, the owners provided games & entertainment for children as well as adults. They also supplied stair gates, high chair etc which is great as the last thing I want to do is take away all those large items with my young children and all their paraphernalia.The cottage was very clean and the kitchen was very well equipped, it was nice to arrive and not have to rush to the supermarket before being able to make a cup of tea!The garden was enclosed so I felt my children were safe to play and not get out onto the road.The cottage is in a perfect position for all the tourist attractions & beaches. It is also in such a quiet and beautiful setting with lovely views. It was really nice to see the cottage had local artists paintings on the walls. I would definitely recommend this cottage as it is suitable for all. June 2013

“Ideal holiday home”  My family and I had a wonderful break in this beautiful farmhouse cottage. We were delighted with the cleanliness and charm of the cottage. The ambience of the cottage is perfect and decorated so appropriately. We loved the log burner. The gardens are beautiful and the location ideal for all places of interest within a mere 10 mile radius! First visit to Cornwall and wonderful to discover the gorgeous beaches, Minack and St Michael’s Mount a must to see. Will definitely recommend to our friends and relatives. Submitted: April 2013

“Idyllic holiday cottage in a great location”. Sunny and bright in the day and cosy in the evening. Really comfortable and well equipped. Stayed over New Year and it was great for walking from the house and for coast walks. Close to all the best beaches in Cornwall. Will definitely be back in the summer. December 2012

“A  lovely week in Newington Farmhouse” . Clean and cosy cottage to relax in (with a lovely wood burning fire) set in the peaceful countryside. Cottage/area has everything you need for a restful week, even with 2 small children! A great location to discover this beautiful corner of the world and close to many beaches and coves. So much still to explore and we look forward to returning soon. April 2013

“Simply Perfect!” Just returned from a week at Newington Farmhouse. Amazing. Clean, comfortable, all the necessary mod cons, lovely gardens, and beautiful views. Three adults, one child and two dogs, we had plenty of space and the sleeping arrangements worked fine with a huge double, a good size twin and a rather charming single. Sensible hard wearing carpet which was easy to hoover up any sand! Well equipped kitchen, oven, grill, fridge freezer, dishwasher and central heating. Its a lovely location with off road parking for two cars and a pefect base for exploring the bottom part of Cornwall. two supermarkets within 5 miles and loads of lovely country walks literally on the doorstep. We plan on returning. Highly recomended! March 2012

“Recreation at it’s finest” I was after a long time back in the UK to the to find rest and lots of relaxation.Lyndsay has received me very warmly. I had theImpression that I know for a long time and have me immediately felt comfortable. This house has given me everything I wanted. It leaves no wishes there was nothing missing.The wonderful ambience, the coziness, the beautiful garden everything was so fantastic. The beautiful stylish means I liked it very well. I have never in so a short time can draw as much force as in this cottage in the beautiful location in Cornwall. I’m definitely come again, because I found the next time here a second home have. Love Lyndsay good thanks. May 2016

Guest Book comments:

We love this cottage! We all had a wonderful stay and hope to come again.  Dec 2016

A fabulous stay at Newington Farmhouse we were overjoyed at how pretty and relaxing the house is , really felt like a welcoming home. Loved sitting in the garden first thing with a cup of tea and just enjoying the peace and quiet. August 2016.

We have loved Newington Farmhouse, its situation, how beautifully furnished it is, the garden, the comfort. Thank you for providing us with a fabulous base from which to explore. July 2016.

What a beautiful cottage and stunning rural location yet so near to  lots of fabulous beaches and things to do and see. July 2016.

What a beautiful location! From the moment we arrived in Newington Farmhouse we felt at home, cosy and comfortable. We just loved the cottage. June 2016.

Another beautiful stay at Newington Farmhouse. We love your house Lyndsay it is just so restful and we think you have thought of everything one needs to just relax. Thank you for a lovely stay. We will definitely be back. June 2016.

We loved it so much to stay in your most beautiful cottage. We all don’t want to leave and for sure we’ll come back to go on discovering this great landscape and relaxing in the house. March 2016

We had a wonderful holiday and your cottage is perfect. November  2015

I can’t think of anything to improve the cottage, it is quite perfect as it is and we all felt very much at home quickly. We especially liked the fact that it is not the average ikea interior and that it felt personal and intimate. August  2015

What a fabulous week we have had. This is a lovely, comfy, homey cottage, well equipped, even down to books, DVDs and games and so close to so many beautiful beaches, coves and sights. May 2015

Stay was fab. Loved the cottage and would be back to stay again. Apr 2015

We have had the most wonderful time. Sancreed is a real hidden gem. The cottage so peaceful and relaxing – we will be visiting again for sure! We have walked miles and feel very satisfied with our time here. Thanks truly for making it all possible. May 2015

We had a lovely time exploring stone-age remains and walking along the coastline. Sancreed itself was a lovely surprise; such a delightful little village and we absolutely loved the ancient well. Newington Farmhouse was a perfect base and felt so wonderfully homely. I can’t think of a better base for exploring Cornwall and we’ll definitely be back one day. December  2014

We enjoyed the holidays in your cottage, it is lovely place. In our opinion there is nothing to improve. Aug 2014

We enjoyed the stay in Cornwall very much. An important factor for that was Newington Farmhouse. We really liked this place very much with its aesthetic interior. August 2014

We really enjoyed our holiday in Sancreed! Your house is really amazing and a good place to visit all interesting landscapes and sights in the surrounding! So thank you very much for all; I’m sure we will come back one day. July 2014

We had a really great time, very peaceful place to stay for the fortnight. We wouldn’t hesitate in coming back to stay at the farmhouse again. Loved the comfy bed, found everything we needed (and then some!) – it was a perfect location for us too, right in the middle of so many areas to visit, all within just a few minutes. May 2014

We had a wonderful week. We felt like loved visitors. Many thanks for everything. A part of our heart stayed there. August  2013

We did have a lovely holiday in Sancreed. The cottage and location were great, and we would definitely come again. June 2013

I have been meaning to contact you to say what a lovely and enjoyable holiday we had. Your cottage was homely and cosy and the views were beautiful, we didn’t want to go home!! I’m sure we will return soon. June 2013

Julie and I enjoyed your lovely house very much. We found it incredibly comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. Everything about it was just perfect. November 2012